top of page

In like a lion, out like a lamb...?!

"Every day that you say yes is the making of a ritual that builds force like the tide, pushing further up the sand to smooth its wispy chaos into something solid you can build a castle on." -Lauren

Fleshman in "Running is Ritual."

It's that time again! Time to make and set goals, throw on more shorts and less tights, dust off the spikes from the closet and embrace warmer weather, higher intensity, and the familiar feel of rubber underfoot. #trackisback, let the outdoor season begin! The saying goes, March comes in like a lion and out like a lamb...well, I'd like to reverse that. In like a lamb (meaning smart, well-planned training) and out like a lion- train hard, race hard.

After three weeks of somewhat bumpy post-marathon emotional and physical recovery, this past Friday I felt, to be quite honest, like I was riding in a car with a flat tire. I didn't feel good, doubted whether I was really running like my normal self, and ended up needing a weekend at home with the parents in Atlanta to reset. Sometimes, though, it's short trips like that which can rejuvenate you, and remind you that process is called that for a reason. I am the kind of person who can continually push myself to hold routine, practice, wake up early to run, etc., but that doesn't mean I don't need a few reminders here and there that running is about the building of strength into success- not an immediate windfall. Elite marathoner and Reebok athlete Sarah Crouch wrote a great blog post about resilience in running- a huge part of the process which is training. My favorite bit of her writing is "embrace the slow process through which running is restoring and strengthening you. Do not dwell on the blows that fall but on how you may best withstand them. Let running teach you to be hearty, be strong, be steel," Find her blog here.

"Racing teaches us to challenge ourselves. It teaches us to push beyond where we thought we could go. It helps us to find out what we are made of. This is what we do. This is what it's all about." -Patti Sue Plummer

And now, I'm ready. Recharged, revving to hit the track. Bring on the challenges and the tough days- I know they will be ahead, and I embrace them in the pursuit of my goals. As part of my early season goals, I am seeking to build confidence, strength, and resilience; I am also going to enjoy the process of building fitness and training for the outdoor season.

So, where am I headed?

March 25th: Raleigh Relays, 5k

April 22-23rd: Virginia Challenge, 5k

May 1st: Payton-Jordan Invitational, 10k

June 11th: Portland Track Festival, 10k (hopefully)

With this racing schedule, I want to qualify for the summer Olympic Trials in the 10k, 5k, or both. Along the way, I want to knock off some chunks of time to accomplish PR's in both events. The automatic time standards for Trials are steep compared to my current track PRs, which are 16:32 for 5k and 34:14 for 10k. However, with a excellent base from the marathon and careful cultivation of confidence, I'm not afraid to go after steep times. If anything, I'm excited to get the chance to put myself out on bigger stages, racing athletes who are seeking to end up on that starting line in Eugene in July.

And, I don't have to do this alone! If there's one thing I've learned this year, it's that those who love and support you are the biggest motivators to push to succeed. I would be nowhere without my support crew; and after a weekend of hitting the reset to begin what will be an adventure on the track, their love is more valuable to me than ever. They love me for who I am now, and that's what gives me drive. This season will be a continuation of learning to accept where I am and look towards where I want to be.

"The challenge and the energy running requires may be a selfish one, but it actually motivates me to be stronger in my relationships." -Joan Benoit Samuelson

"When you have the enthusiasm and the passion, you end up figuring how to excel." - Deena Kastor

Side note, I also found out today that I will get to be a part of Picky Bars' Feed The Dream program to fuel Olympic hopefuls from now until Rio! Woohoo! That means soon I will be achieving one of my lifegoals- eating my first Picky Bar (holla)

bottom of page