top of page

10 Spring Favorites

Like any of your typical Type-A personalities, I love lists. I love writing to-do lists, grocery lists, calendar lists, any list you can think of- you name it, I'm in. I frequently get sucked in to the allure of a Buzzfeed "20 reasons why.." or "Top 10 so-and-so...", and have a habit of crossing off one item on my to-do list just so I can write myself a new one. I love packing lists, and am always up for nailing down a top 10 of anything you can think of - songs, desserts, cat pictures, whatever.

A few years ago, my best friend & roommate, Ali, and I became even more invested in making lists. At one point, we even made a list titled "Things that should not exist" to contain everything that irrationally annoyed us, which I found while digging through old images this morning:

**Disclaimer- these are all personal preferences, no offense to anyone who likes M&M cookies or ice in milk. I have a fear of soggy things (milk in cereal never happens) and angel food cake was invented by mad scientists who hate chocolate.**

In celebration of the warmer weather arriving in Charlotte this week, here's my list of the day:

10 Things I'm Digging for Spring:

My girl Kathleen Laporte sent me a sweet package after the marathon Trials with a congrats note, gels in my favorite flavor, and this new gizmo- the Tigertail Tiger Ball. I'd never seen this gadget before, but since opening it, am obsessed. Not only is it portable, easy to use (similar to rolling with a lacross ball, only larger) but it's also airport-security-passable. While I love my standard foam roller, the Tiger Ball is a new way to mix up my rolling routine, and break the boredom that foam rolling can easily become. It's also great to bring to practices and easy to take with you out and about to yoga, runs, etc., and you can use it on any part of your body.

Featuring Aero Capris

2. OOTD: Aero Capri + Hi-Line Bra + Wazelle SS/Drop Top LS

In this changing spring weather, that means 3/4 or capri length tights! The combo of the Aero Capri (in deep sea) with the burgen Hi-Line Bra is not only fashionable but when paired with a top layer, ready for any spring weather. Combining capris with short sleeve for hotter days, and when it cools off suddenly (like spring always does!) top it with the Drop Top long sleeve. Deep sea + Burgen + Mineral/Shell = colors on point.

Or you can always pull an Ali Cobb and go tights plus sports bra, whatever the weather.

3. Lattes with Almond Milk

Because, duh. Coffee and deliciousness. Also, getting perilously close to the coffee deadline for outdoor season (self-imposed beginning next Monday) so savoring every last delightful sip.

4. 'Be Lit' : blog by fellow Oiselle teammate Shante Little

Not to be a total internet creeper, but I've been loving updates by fellow Oiselle teammates on social media- whether blog, Twitter, or Facebook. Shante's blog is fresh, engaging and inspiring, and has some great posts to browse. I'm happy to be a part of a team of women whose internet selves help me get to know them even though we've never met, so Shante- thanks for giving me an insight into your journey, and I hope we can meet each other in the future!

5. Nuun and club soda:

I recently aquired some new flavors of Nuun to try, and my latest trick is to make a bottle of nuun and combine it with splash of club soda in a glass with some ice. Crisp and refreshing with the benefits of nuun, along with some of the bubbles that I'm always craving on a hot afternoon.

I'm always working my way through my old favorite flavor, lemonade, so a re-stocking may be in my future....my box is starting to look a little sad!

6. Cottage cheese

You might think this one is a little odd. Cottage cheese? Seriously?

Fair enough. But this makes the list because I have rediscovered cottage cheese, world's best breakfast/lunch/dinner/sweet/salty/snacky food. It serves any purpose- subsitute for yogurt, on top of sweet potatoes, mixed with canned pumpkin, jelly, applesauce, grilled veggies, whatever you have in the fridge, plain, blended into a smoothie, and so on. Plus, I like to see as much green in my wallet as I do on my plate, and cottage cheese is an excellent cheap source of protein. Hurray!

7. "Player" by Tinashe

Everyone needs to have a current song to listen to on repeat or watch the music video on repeat one zillion times on a treadmill run or dance to in the bathroom mirror while no one is home (not that I've been doing that at all, obviously). This is a current fave, check out the video here.

8. 400s on the track

Spring track means speed work, and one thing I love is 400s! Now that track workouts are here to stay, I will get to see more of those 400 repeats mixed into workouts and as main features (hopefully). One of my all time favorite threshold workouts is endless 400 repeats. Dreamy.

I made my first reacquaintance with the track on Tuesday, where I did the following ladder:

1200, 1000, 800, 1000, 1200, 2x400; all at 80-82 pace with the 400s done 76 and 77; 2:30-3 rest between intervals. Oomph. First track workout, check. Getting in shape is always a fun ride- bring on the next one!

9. Yogi Ginger Tea + Lux Sweatpants

This combo is a current favorite as it fills the morning and evenings hours when spring fades with the sun and the chilly weather reappears. After a warm day, I always catch a chill around the apartment in the evening, and my favorite way to wind down for the night is with a cup of tea, lounging in my cozy Lux sweatpants. I am a big fan of the Yogi teas, and splurge on them occasionally - ginger was my past buy - but have a whole corner set up for tea.

Sal can attest to my love of warm drinks as every time I walk in the door in the morning after my run and jump in the shower, I'm shouting out the bathroom door for him to "turn on the hot thing" aka hot water heater. Note, words are hard at 7 am, need warm drinks to turn on the brain for the day.

10. Picky Bar's sneak peek new flavor

Although I have yet to unwrap my first Picky Bar, lurking on Twitter showed that a new "sneak peek" flavor is emerging to Picky Club members...so this makes the list as an anticipatory love for Picky Bars and Picky Bar flavor #8! I'll be crossing my fingers each time I open the mailbox the next few days! (I hear it's ginger flavor, which I love....)

That brings me to the end of today's big ten. Here's to hoping everyone's as ready for spring as I am- what are some of your current favorite things? I love notes, comments, feedbacks, questions, pictures of cats, suggestions, so feel free to share! In the meantime, I'll be off running, thinking of such important things like top ten cat memes or best roll-down-your-window car jams...

bottom of page