top of page

Started from the bottom, now we here

LA baby! Not really much words to use here, other than give you an idea of some cool things I've been able to squeeze in among copious amounts of stretching, taper jogging, resting, and as always watching some quality junk TV...

It's been an adventure so far. I arrived in LA on Wednesday afternoon - pacific time - and was picked up at LAX by my Uncle Mike. He has lived in LA my whole life, and it was great to see him again. He then gave me the grand tour of the sprawling, congested, bustling city, including a drive out to Santa Monica to see the Pacific Ocean:

As well as touching the ocean! [Note- extremely cold]

We drove down Hollywood- talk about starstruck. The lights, the stars in the sidewalk, the original comedy clubs, the movie premiere complete with red carpet that was happening- too cool. We ended the day (a long one for me with the time change!) grabbing dinner with my aunt and cousin Emily.

Then, it was off to check in on Thursday to the hotel, meet up with some of my Oiselle teammates, as well as the group from the Nest! I'm always reminded how incredible this team is by how simple it is to meet teammates for the first time. Kristin, Heather, Sally, Jacquelyn, and everyone I met yesterday were so warm and welcoming, I feel like this wasn't the first time we were meeting but had known each other for a long time.

Oh, and I did my easy run around the Rose Bowl. THE ROSE BOWL. Whoa. Plus, checked in to the race, decorated some water bottles for special fluids, ran a shakeout in downtown LA, signed the athlete welcome sign, sat for a group interview with the Jacksonville Bank Half OTQer's, shopped at an extremely classy Whole Foods, slept in a hotel that looks as though it's been taken out of a Wes Anderson film (reference there thanks to @oiselle_mac) .... the excitement and the thrill just continues to unfold.

I'm thrilled to be here. I'm fairly nervous - first marathon, what can I say?- but know that tomorrow will be an incredible experience. Whatever happens in the race, it's a big step for me, and will be a sign of great things ahead. I'm excited to stand on the starting line with my Oiselle teammates as part of the 202 women who have dedicated so much time and hard work to being here. Running is a process of continually giving your all, even if it hurts, and a marathon really encapsulates the sum of that. I also want to thank and shout out to all my Oiselle NC Voleé teammates for their encouragement- I feel so loved!

I could [and likely will eventually] list out everyone who has helped me get to that starting line tomorrow, but to end here, I'll just say thank you- I'm bouncing off the walls to be here, and beyond excited/hopeful/antsy/eager to race. Just like this kid, I'm feeling alive, and HAPPY!

bottom of page