top of page

Jacksonville Half Marathon, or, why 2016 is the Real Deal

As I sat down this morning, post-run, showered and nursing a steaming cup of tea, I intended to write down some thoughts about my past experience with running. I originally wanted to create a post devoted solely to sharing how I became a runner, how I transitioned from high school to college running, and how I came to my training this year.

Which points me toward what I actually want to write about: today's run. Put the reflections on a back burner for now- they'll reappear, I promise. But, since this blog is a way for me to share what my experience is now, my current training is really what I want to get to. However, I do need to explain a little of my story to get everyone up to speed- in particular, the whirlwind that has been the first two weeks of 2016.

A little over a week ago, I ran in the Jacksonville Bank 1/2 Marathon on January 3rd, representing the Oiselle Voleé ambassador team. Racing with a field of nearly 100 elite runners, among them several Oiselle HauteVoleé women- Becki Spellman and Heidi Greenwood. This enormous group of women were all there not to compete against each other but to shoot for a mutual goal- nailing the 1:15:00 qualifer. Some women already had the cut, some didn't. What made this race so special was the collaboration and support in the pack to push each other to reach the standard. There are a number of race write-ups out there more eloquently written- see Salty Running's posts on the pre-race hopefuls, as well as some write-ups on the incredible camaraderie, results, and amazing people behind this race.

With pacers Brianne Nelson and Esther Atkins, the first miles of the race were like clockwork. Ticking off a metronome pace, we settled in around a 5:40ish pace. It was rainy, cold, and really dark. We hit the 5k mark at 17:38 approximately, and I knew we were right on pace. Having the pack to tuck in with was something I'd lacked in my previous two half-marathons this past fall (Kiawah Island 1/2 Marathon on December 12th, and Savannah Rock N' Roll 1/2 Marathon on November 7). I knew that this was the day to shoot for the cut, and to give everything I had to get there. Having other experienced athletes to run with pushed me, and also gave me a completely new race experience. I remember thinking two things when we hit 10k- a) we are running FAST and b) I have never felt so GOOD! Around mile 8, Laurie Knowles (a fellow Charlottean who was competing for the Atlanta Track Club) and Esther Atkins picked up the pace. I followed, and was asked by Esther if I had gotten the qualifier yet. When I replied that I hadn't, she told me to hang with the pace pack for a few more miles as they were going to see if they could push their pace. Her advice was great, as my legs were started to feel a little strain under the quicker tempo. I hung back with the pace group until around miles 10.5-11, and then knew I had to just push through to the finish, and go as hard as I could through that finish line. From about 11.7-12.4, it was straight pain face. Running down the main road towards Bolles High School, all I remember is thinking, "When the heck do we get to turn to the track?!" coupled with "I don't know if I have it, but you need to give more now than you have ever given before!". Turning onto the grass field and seeing my mom yelling at the corner of the stadium, I turned onto the final stretch, and when I saw the clock, I knew this was it. No more pain, just GO. Bringing me home was my dad, on the outside of the fence with his bicycle beside him, windmilling his arms like a maniac and screaming "YEAHHHHH!!!!!!!!"

The end result was the achievement of a goal I have been working towards since I graduated from Davidson- actually, since I started running. I finished with a 1:14:18 and am THRILLED to be able to say I will be debuting in the marathon, at the Olympic Trials in LA on February 13th! (Talk about floating on a cloud for a week post-race...the euphoria is so real)

I would be remiss if I didn't take a second here to shout out to all the people who supported me and helped bring me to this point in my racing career. Richard Fannin, the mind behind the Jacksonville Bank Half Marathon Olympic Trials Qualifier project, put together an incredibly well-organized elite event, with runners from all over the country sharing hotel rooms, shuttles, warm-up area, the whole nine yards. By joining the Oiselle ambassador team, I've received a mind-boggling amount of support from women across the southeast and the country. It was so COOL to be able to meet two elite Oiselle teammates and hear their stories. Even just a day or two after the race, Oiselle women reached out to congratulate me and offer anything from kudos to training advice! My coach, Jen Straub, for her dedication to working with me. I'm continually floored by the support of my parents and my boyfriend, Sal, who make such efforts to be at every race and be there at the finish line, no matter what the results. In Jacksonville, my dad brought his bicycle, and was there at the sideline at every.single.mile.mark. (No joke- the women pacing even asked the group at mile 4 who that random dude in the red raincoat cheering at each mile was...yep, he's with me).

Phew. Now that I've given myself an adrenaline boost reliving the half, it's time to move on to my next topic: training. I won't include it with this post, for fear of losing everyone in a long-winded regaling of untied shoelaces and windy mornings, but instead will end by simply expressing my excitement. I am thrilled to be heading to LA for the Trials one month from now. I am excited to use the confidence felt from the Jacksonville race to train hard and train smart for my first marathon. 2016 is the year where I will whole-heartedly embrace my first love, running (sorry, Sal). I have big goals and big dreams that I intend to chase after with my heart and soul, and in the process, learn a few things about myself.

bottom of page