top of page

A letter to the New Voleé

To all my new Oiselle Voleé teammates,

I hope you woke up this morning and rolled out of bed with a thrill of excitement humming in your veins. Whether you threw on some shorts and an old t-shirt and blindly stumbled out the door to run or roused sleepy children from bed or put on the coffee and prepped for a long day at work, I hope you could feel some new level of anticipation. I hope the morning social media checks in between teeth-brushing and showers and feeding the dog were full of happy chatter about #oisellevoleé and the new members of the Oiselle Team.

This team gave me a chance at a new take on running in the post-collegiate world. Last summer, I was lost, training well but feeling alone and bummed that I didn't have a team to share my journey, ups and downs, with. Becoming a Voleé gave me what I was seeking - camaraderie, a fan club (to be cheered on by and to cheer others on in), new friendships, local and national connections. I cannot say enough about how becoming part of the Voleé influenced my journey and growth in my running, and I am so thrilled that we get to welcome new members to be a part of this movement.

So, new teammates- All the welcomes, all the hugs, all the shouted hellos, runner waves, awkward high fives! I'm happy because we are growing the number of women who can join in finding our runner's high: "a feeling of euphoria that is experienced by individuals engaged in strenuous running and that is held to be associated with the release of endorphins by the brain running, racing and rumbling with great people and then doing it again." I'm excited for new chances to call you teammates, meet you, hear your stories. Every Voleé woman has her own inspiring story and each one brings insight to a different experience, not only of being a runner but also life stories. From moms to models, nurses, teachers, wives, professionals, we're all here to share our love of running with a team that uplifts in every way imaginable.

This is a team where we can dream big, and help each other dream big. Achieving goals becomes infinitely possible when you have the support of a group like the Oiselle Voleé. I can say I never anticipated how much joy being a part of the Oiselle Voleé would bring me, but now that I'm here, I have no regrets. You are all women of the Voleé, and you are all beautiful, badass women!

Head Up, Wings Out!

-EO

bottom of page