top of page

Life Update

Hey blog, it's me - back from a hiatus. The past two weeks have been a whirlwind of ups, downs, and everything in between. Made some changes, some fresh decisions, some necessary adjustments; here's the 411 on where I have landed this April and what I'm looking forward to!

In my quest to achieve perfection (ha ha) I got caught somewhere along the path, about midway between insanely frustrated/angry and tediously striving to push myself forward when my body simply just didn't want to. It's felt exactly like bashing my head against a brick wall in hopes that my repeated efforts will eventually knock it down.

What does that mean for my season, you might ask?

I've decided to refocus by taking a step back from the track for a few weeks. I want to build up mileage and base training, but equally important, build up confidence. After several disheartening 5ks on the track, my brain and body are ready to press a slight pause button. It's never fun to be beating yourself up over some time standard you can't hit, an ideal shape you aren't in yet, or goal you want to achieve now but it's not the right time yet. That is essentially what I've been doing through March, and it sucks. It sucks to feel like you are pushing so hard to get to your goals and despite everything that you do, nothing seems to work.

A upcoming post is in progress about the marathon recovery and the last few weeks of training (including some sneaking suspicions of low iron difficulties, shoe swaps, and an epic sidewalk wipe-out last weekend), but for now, I wanted to sneak back into the web and reconnect with the world- still here! still running! still striving forward!

So, new list of goals for the month (and beyond)- be strong, be healthy, be fit. Recreate joy and happiness in every run. Build physical and mental fitness. And- for April- my #oisellefullhalf goals: run 13 new routes, run with 13 new friends, and write 13 blog posts! Here's number 1!


bottom of page